governance board image

SOCWA is a Joint Powers Authority governed by a ten-member Board of Directors, with one director appointed to represent each member agency. The Board works to fulfill SOCWA’s purpose and mission, while balancing the interests of their respective agencies. The Board elects two of its members in June of each year to serve one-year terms as Chairman and Vice Chairman. Each Director has equal voting rights. Board of Directors meetings are held the first Thursday of every month at 8:30 a.m. at the SOCWA Administrative Office. SOCWA also receives input from engineering and finance committees, which are comprised of additional representatives from its 10 member agencies.

Member Agencies Director Alternate(s) Directors
El Toro Water District Kathryn Freshley Mike Gaskins
Emerald Bay Service District Mike Dunbar Susan Thomas
Irvine Ranch Water District Douglas J. Reinhart Paul Cook, Kevin Burton
Laguna Beach, City of Toni Iseman  John Pietig, David Shissler
Moulton Niguel Water District Joone Lopez Matt Collings, Donald Froelich
San Clemente, City of Dave Rebensdorf James Makshanoff, Erik Sund
South Coast Water District Dennis Erdman Rick Shintaku
San Juan Capistrano, City of Troy Bourne Ray Miller
Santa Margarita Water District Daniel R Ferons – Chairperson Don Bunts, Robb Grantham
Trabuco Canyon Water District Stephen Dopudja, Vice Chairperson Glenn Acosta, Michael Perea

Board members can be contacted by writing to: 34156 Del Obispo Street, Dana Point, CA 92629